Erik Jones on Pole for 300

by September 24, 2016

SPARTA, Ky. — Erik Jones scored his 11th 21 Means 21 Pole Award of his career in the NASCAR XFINITY Series on Saturday and will lead the field to green in the night’s 300 at Kentucky Speedway.

The driver of the No. 20 GameStop/Overwatch Toyota collected his eighth pole of the season with a lap of 28.845 seconds.

Joining the Joe Gibbs Racing driver on the front row will be teammate Daniel Suarez followed by Elliott Sadler, Ty Dillon, Sam Hornish Jr., Matt Tifft, Brendan Gaughan, Ryan Blaney, Darrell Wallace Jr. and Justin Allgaier in the top-10.

Chase drivers Brennan Poole, Brandon Jones, Blake Koch, Ryan Reed and Ryan Sieg will respectively start in positions Nos. 11, 14, 15, 16 and 19.

Suarez was fastest in the first round of qualifying over Erik Jones with a lap of 29.098 seconds with all 12 Chase drivers making the transfer into the second round.

In the second round, it was the pole-sitter who was fastest over Suarez with a lap of 28.914 seconds.

Brandon Jones, Koch, Reed and Sieg were the drivers to be eliminated from pole contention following the conclusion of the second round.

Timmy Hill was the lone driver to fail to qualify for Saturday night’s 200-lap race following the end of Round 1.

The 300 is set for an 8:00 p.m ET start time with live television coverage provided by NBCSN and radio coverage being provided by the Performance Racing Network.

Photo Credit: Jonathan Moore/NASCAR via Getty Images

[gview file=””]