Grant Enfinger Conserves Enough Fuel for Pocono Victory

by June 3, 2016

Grant Enfinger’s return to the ARCA Racing Series landed him in a familiar location on Friday evening – victory lane.

The 2015 series champion took home the checkered in for the #AnywhereIsPossible 200 at Pocono Raceway, driving a familiar No. 23 Chevrolet owned by fellow Alabama native Bret Holmes.

An impressive fuel conservation run and a defensive final lap to stave off a charge from Austin Cindric handed the 31-year-old Enfinger his 15th career ARCA win in what was his 92nd start.

When asked in victory lane how he made his final fuel run work, Enfinger couldn’t provide a specific answer and noted that at points late in the race the fuel gauge started to flatline near empty.

“I really don’t know,” Enfinger said. “The good lord [blessed us] today, that’s for sure. We really didn’t have the car to do it with on Tuesday or yesterday as well. We made a lot of wholesale changes with … everybody that’s helped us get here, I can’t say thank you enough as it was not a good car when we showed up.

“We had a legitimate good car, we were just pushed into that situation with the fuel mileage. The fuel gauge kept fluttering and we kind of made out bed at that point.”

Cindric, the fastest driver in both Thursday practices, was one of the main leaders of the early stages of the race along with Cunningham Motorsports teammate Myatt Snider.

The driver of the No. 99 Pirtek Ford had both the tires and the fuel to make it the distance, yet could only close to Enfinger’s bumper at the waving of the checkered.

“We had the fastest car all weekend,” Cindric noted. “These guys gave me a great piece at Cunningham Motorsports. It was really cool to get Pirtek out here after we got rained out at Dover in the Truck race – I really wish we would’ve got into victory lane. Congrats to Grant, it was really a good call for those guys. We’ll get them next time.”

Brandon Jones, Dalton Sargeant, Brady Boswell, Kyle Benjamin, Justin Haley, William Byron, Myatt Snider and Chase Briscoe rounded out the top-10 finishing order of the 80-lapper.

Other notable finishers included Josh Williams in 11th, Ryan Reed in 12th, Matt Kurzejewski in 13th, Tom Hessert in 15th, Kyle Weatherman in 18th and John Wes Townley in 19th.

Three caution flags flew during the course of the race with the first coming out on Lap 5 for the stalled car of Mason Mitchell Motorsports’s Noah Gragson.

Lap 24 brought about a caution for a Turn 1 spin by Ray Ciccarelli while Will Kimmel brought out the final caution of the day on Lap 31 for a solo crash in Turn 2.

The points standings heading into next Friday’s race at Michigan International Speedway remain tight as Briscoe holds a 50-point lead over Williams with Hessert lurking behind in third – 145 points back.

Finishing Order of the #AnywhereIsPossible 200

  1. 23 – Grant Enfinger
  2. 99 – Austin Cindric
  3. 8 – Brandon Jones
  4. 55 – Dalton Sargeant
  5. 98 – Brady Boswell
  6. 28 – Kyle Benjamin
  7. 74 – Justin Haley
  8. 15 – William Byron
  9. 22 – Myatt Snider
  10. 77 – Chase Briscoe
  11. 6 – Josh Williams
  12. 38 – Ryan Reed
  13. 52 – Matt Kurzejewski
  14. 32 – Shane Lee
  15. 25 – Tom Hessert
  16. 5 – Bobby Gerhart
  17. 42 – Bo LeMastus
  18. 58 – Kyle Weatherman
  19. 05 – John Wes Townley
  20. 9 – Thomas Praytor
  21. 10 – Ed Pompa
  22. 07 – Brian Kaltreider
  23. 20 – Tom Berte
  24. 13 – George Cushman
  25. 48 – Brad Smith
  26. 2 – Ray Ciccarelli
  27. 14 – Dustin Knowles
  28. 34 – Mike Basham
  29. 69 – Will Kimmel
  30. 78 – Noah Gragson
  31. 0 – Dale Matchett
  32. 06 – Don Thompson
  33. 64 – Steve Fox
  34. 11 – Chris Bailey Jr.
  35. 27 – Richard Doheny
  36. 00 – Con Nicolopoulos

Photo Credit: Barry Cantrell/Short Track Spotlight