Martin Truex Jr. Wins the Pole for the Go Bowling 400

by May 6, 2016

KANSAS CITY — A tremendously quick lap of 28.284 seconds handed Martin Truex Jr. the pole for Saturday night’s Go Bowling 400 at Kansas Speedway.

Scoring his first pole in just over four years, Truex Jr.’s quick lap managed to be enough to hold off Matt Kenseth for the pole. Leading up to the third of three qualifying rounds, Kenseth had swept both earlier rounds with respective laps of 28.416 and 28.315 seconds.

“It was good,” Truex Jr. said of his run. “It feels good to get another pole – it’s been a long time. I got an XFINITY Series pole here at Kansas back in 2005. It’s been awhile here at Kansas and it’s been a few years in the Cup Series altogether.

“We’ve been really close with our Furniture Row team the past several years, we’ve qualified second a handful of times and been just right there at it. We’ve led the first round, we’ve led the second round, we just haven’t quite figured out how to lead that last round.

“Today I’m just really proud of everyone at Furniture Row Racing, the Bass Pro Shops/Tracker Boats Toyota was really all day long. I just can’t say enough about my team and what we have going on right now.”

Completing the top-10 of the starting grid for Saturday night’s 267-lap race will be Denny Hamlin, Kurt Busch, Brad Keselowski, Kyle Busch, Ryan Blaney, Ryan Newman, Ricky Stenhouse Jr. and Trevor Bayne.

The first round of qualifying featured Kenseth and Truex Jr. leading the way and featured a variety of surprising names to miss out on advancing to the second round.

While drivers such as Danica Patrick, Kyle Larson and Dale Earnhardt Jr. made it through to Q2, Chris Buescher, Kevin Harvick, Kasey Kahne and Clint Bowyer fell by the wayside and failed to advance any further.

Kenseth was the leader of a Joe Gibbs Racing top-two lockout in the second round of qualifying as he just beat out teammate Hamlin for the top spot.

Among the drivers eliminated from advancing to Q3 were Chase Elliott, Joey Logano, Jimmie Johnson, Tony Stewart, Austin Dillon, Earnhardt Jr., Larson and Patrick.

With 40 teams entered for the 11th points race of the season, no driver was sent home following Friday evening’s first round of qualifying.

The Go Bowling 400 will get underway tomorrow night at 7:30 p.m ET and will be broadcast live on

 [gview file=””]

Photo Credit: Robert Laberge/NASCAR via Getty Images