Herr’s Chase the Taste 200 Preview

by July 6, 2014

Photo Credit ARCA

WINCHESTER, Ind. — 23 drivers head to Winchester Speedway in Indiana this week for the 10th round of the ARCA Racing Series – the Herr’s Chase the Taste 200.

As has been the case over the last several weeks, all eyes will be on the battle between points leaders Grant Enfinger (Team BCR) and Mason Mitchell (Mason Mitchell Motorsports.) Enfinger heads to Winchester looking for his fifth win of the season while Mitchell is still hunting for his first career win in what will be his 34th start in the ARCA Racing Series. Mitchell has a perfect opportunity to shrink Enfinger’s 35-point lead in the Drivers’ Standings this weekend given his history at the track compared to Enfinger’s.

Both Mitchell and Enfinger have one start apiece at the half-mile asphalt oval. Enfinger’s ninth-place finish at Winchester in 2011 would be topped by Mitchell’s fifth-place run in last year’s race.

Both championship contenders will have to deal with NASCAR veteran and 17-time ARCA race winner, Ken Schrader (Ken Schrader Racing) in their quest to get to victory lane. Schrader’s No. 52 Federated Auto Parts Toyota has been fast all weekend in preparation for Sunday’s race and is the pole-sitter for the 200-lap race. Schrader has one previous start at Winchester which resulted in the 59-year-old finishing in 18th in 1999. Schrader has been red-hot in his four starts this season with two top-fives and three top-10s coming in his handful of starts.

Frank Kimmel (Win-Tron Racing) may play a huge factor into the conclusion of the 200 as well. The six-time Winchester Speedway winner is the defending winner of the Herr’s Chase the Taste 200 and nine straight finishes at the track where he finished no worse than 11th. The 10-time ARCA Racing Series champion is still looking for his first win of the season and a strong performance that will allow the 52-year-old to make huge gains on Enfinger and Mitchell in the points standings.

For the last three races at Winchester, the number of cautions on the half-mile circuit have been in the double digits. Prior to the 2011 race, cautions would range up in the double digits for six consecutive races. Should the recent streak hold up on Sunday, drivers will be relying on their pit crews and crew chiefs to make great strategy calls to provide themselves with the winning edge.

The Herr’s Chase the Taste 200 will be broadcast live on CBS Sports Network at 2:00 p.m EDT on Sunday afternoon.

Entry List for the Herr’s Chase the Taste 200

  1. 0 – James Swanson – Ford – Wayne Peterson Racing
  2. 2 – Thomas Praytor – Chevrolet – Wayne Hixson
  3. 3 – Karl Weber – Chevrolet – Wayne Hixson
  4. 4 – Brandon Jones – Chevrolet – Turner Scott Motorsports
  5. 6 – Josh Williams – Ford – Williams Racing
  6. 15 – John Wes Townley – Toyota – Venturini Motorsports
  7. 17 – Kyle Weatherman – Ford – Roulo Brothers Racing
  8. 22 – Austin Wayne Self – Dodge – Cunningham Motorsports
  9. 25 – Justin Boston – Toyota – Venturini Motorsports
  10. 34 – Darrell Basham – Chevrolet – Darrell Basham Racing
  11. 40 – Jami Weimer – Dodge – Carter 2 Motorsports
  12. 44 – Frank Kimmel – Toyota – Win-Tron Racing
  13. 48 – Brad Smith – Ford – James Hylton Motorsports
  14. 52 – Ken Schrader – Chevrolet – Ken Schrader Racing
  15. 55 – Cody Coughlin – Toyota – Venturini Motorsports
  16. 66 – J.J. Haley – Toyota – Venturini Motorsports
  17. 68 – Will Kimmel – Ford – Kimmel Racing
  18. 69 – Michael Lira – Ford – Kimmel Racing
  19. 72 – Tom Hessert – Dodge – Cunningham Motorsports
  20. 77 – Anderson Bowen – Dodge – Cunningham Motorsports
  21. 90 – Grant Enfinger – Ford – Team BCR
  22. 98 – Mason Mitchell – Ford – Mason Mitchell Motorsports
  23. 06 – Wayne Peterson – Chevrolet – Wayne Peterson Racing