Kyle Busch Captures Second Win This Season At Kansas Speedway

by May 10, 2014

Photo Credit: Todd Warshaw/NASCAR via Getty Images

KANSAS CITY, Kan. – Kyle Busch went to Victory Lane for the first time at Kansas Speedway on Friday night when he took the checkered flag in the SFP 250.

The week started off on a positive note when entitlement sponsor, Camping World announced a contract extension that’ll last through the 2022 season. This weekend marked the first time in NASCAR Camping World Truck Series history, the stars of the series raced underneath the lights at Kansas Speedway. Night racing always seems to be a little more exciting, and Friday night’s event certainly wasn’t short on entertainment.

On the very first lap, Ron Hornaday had to check up for Timothy Peters in turn four, and with contact from Brennan Newberry, Hornaday went up the track and into Peters. Hornaday saved the truck from hitting the outside wall, but German Quiroga and Spencer Gallagher had nowhere to go and were collected in the accident.

While fighting for position underneath Taylor Malsam, John Wes Townley got aero loose and spun in turn two bringing out the caution on lap 57. While trying to avoid the spinning truck of Townley, Bryan Silas got into the back of Ron Hornaday and sent him into his HScott Motorsports teammate, Ben Kennedy.

Not long after a restart on lap 81, Brad Keselowski Racing teammates, Ryan Blaney and Joey Logano were battling for the lead when Blaney’s truck clipped the apron and began to spin. Blaney did a great job of keeping the truck off the wall, but as the field passed by, Johnny Sauter and Tyler Young got together and absolutely shattered the rear end of Blaney’s truck; all three drivers had hard impacts.

“We qualified 15th and just fine tuned on our truck in the first half of the race,” Tyler Young said. “I was really struggling with a loose in, tight in the center feel and the guys did a really good job on pit road making adjustments to get it right. At about the half-way point I really thought we had it figured out. Unfortunately, there was a wreck in front of us, I checked up, and I got run over from behind.

“I hate it for all my guys; everyone has worked so hard and tonight is a true testament of what this team is capable of. We have a new truck in the paint shop that we will take to Charlotte and hopefully transfer what I learned here tonight to unload strong next week.”

As wild as the first 132 laps were, the final 35 laps went caution free. Kyle Busch made the pass on Austin Dillon for the race lead on lap 146 and never looked back to capture his first career win at Kansas Speedway. The win marked Busch’s second win this season. He won at Daytona International Speedway back in February.

Busch led 104 laps on eight occasions, but it wasn’t an easy feat. Busch’s truck seemed to be the strongest on long runs, so when he was finally able to get out front without a pack side drafting off of him, he took away, and no one could even come close to competing with his Kyle Busch Motorsports Toyota Tundra. With the win, Eric Phillips became the all-time winningest crew chief in the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series. Phillips has 79 wins as a crew chief.

“My truck was really good on the long runs,” Busch said. “I was good on the short runs too — if I could just get away and go. But, everybody was all over me all the time side-drafting and everything — making it real difficult for me to get away. That’s the fun part about truck racing.  That’s just what the product is and what it’s all about and hopefully it was a good show for the fans. There at the end on the long run it really came in here with this truck and took off.”

Up next on the schedule for the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series is the North Carolina Education Lottery 200 at Charlotte Motor Speedway on Friday, May 16. After the majority of the field was caught up in some kind of accident at Kansas Speedway, coming home to the Charlotte, North Carolina area where most of the teams are based will provide a much needed sigh of relief.


SFP 250 at Kansas Speedway Top-10 Results:

1.) #51 Kyle Busch

2.) #88 Matt Crafton

3.) #19 Joey Logano

4.) #20 Austin Dillon

5.) #32 Taylor Malsam

6.) #13 Jeb Burton

7.) #77 German Quiroga

8.) #30 Ron Hornaday Jr.

9.) #8 Joe Nemecheck

10.) #35 Mason Mingus


NASCAR Camping World Truck Series Top-5 Driver Points:

1.) #88 Matt Crafton 120

2.) #17 Timothy Peters 112

3.) #30 Ron Hornaday Jr. 112

4.) #77 German Quiroga 109

5.) #98 Johnny Sauter 105